Our very own milestones

Standard

It all began when I was offered a job as a Personal Trainer, which was rather odd considering I hadn’t worked specifically in that field before. Also, my fitness level was far from impressive, at least far from what the average expectation would want a PT to be. Regardless of all the reasons I had for saying no I chose to dive into the yes, which proved (once again) that taking risks and leaving the comfort zone can have astounding rewards.

I initiated my training on May 23rdĀ  and today, 50 days later, I was able to squat with 135 lbs on me. To light some perspective: on my first day of training I attempted the same kind of squats using only the 45 lbs. barbell on my shoulders and– well, I felt I was going to die; my legs were giving out, my shoulders where in pain, my lower back was not happy and I felt very weak. To have been able to do my series of squats today with three times that weight made me ecstatic!

My accomplishment may not seem like much to some and that’s ok. This is my own milestone, the first of many more to come. I think that fitness, like life, is less about following the path and more about creating it. In this my success today has been significant and has filled me with joy. What else could I ask for?

With this journey just starting and it being something entirely new for me I thought it a good time to track my progress, thoughts and other things here. Welcome!

Leave a Reply

