Vegan Kickstart- Week 1 down!

Standard

DAY 4

Breakfast

-Kashi cereal with almond milk

-One peach

Lunch

-For Anna: A re-do of yesterday’s sandwich, of course.

-For me: Leftover carrot and red pepper soup, now with hemp seeds sprinkled into it (delish!). Leftover skillet eggplant and pasta.

Dinner

-Whole wheat spaghetti with roasted red pepper and tomato sauce.

-Almond ‘meatballs’. My very own concoction, and very easy to make: Blend 1 cup of almonds and ground flaxseed with 2 Tbs of coconut oil, 1 clove of garlic, onion, parsley, sea salt and black pepper. You can add a bit of water too, to activate the binding feature of ground flaxseed. Roll into balls and bake or fry lightly. Ah-may-zing!

-Side of green salad with grapeseed oil, balsamic vinegar and lime juice for dressing.

Snack

-A big platter of fresh veggies including carrot, cucumber and sliced red pepper with some hummus on the side.

DAY 5

Breakfast

-French toast! With a recipe borrowed from Wendy, from Adventures in Chi: blend a banana, non-dairy milk (I used almond) cinnamon, 1 tsp of ground flaxseed mixed in a bit of water (this binds as eggs would do), and a splash of vanilla; use this mixture to coat your bread. I cooked mine using Earth Balance butter spread on the pan, and sweetened it with maple syrup.

Lunch

-Leftover spaghetti and almond meatballs.

Dinner

-Eggplant rolls stuffed with walnut pesto. Simply sautee the eggplant slices in homemade vegetable broth, stuff with walnut pesto an roll.

Snacks

Pre-workout a.m.-  Spinach fruit smoothie: Blend spinach and the fruit of your choice (I went for banana, blueberry and strawberry).

Pre-workout p.m.- Banana-flax pudding. Based on a recipe found in Brendan Brazier’s book Thrive, with my own tweaks: Blend two bananas, 1/2 C of mango, 1/4 C of ground flaxseed, 2 Tbs of coconut oil, 1 tsp of lime juice and a pinch of sea salt and enough coconut water to make it the consistency you desire.

-Kashi cereal with almond milk.

DAY 6

Breakfast

– French toast again. Soooo good.

Lunch

-Half an all-vegetable Subway (lettuce, tomato, green pepper, red onion, green and black olives, pickles), with mustard and black pepper.

Dinner

-The other half of my veggie Subway (we went to a party that night, so I brought this with me to eat there)

Snacks

-Fruits and veggies from platters brought to the hotel room where I was doing makeup for a wedding party in the a.m.

-Corn chips with black bean and salsa dip made by me, which I brought to the party in the p.m.

DAY 7

Breakfast

– Bran cereal with vanilla rice milk

Lunch

-BBQ! We were unexpectedly invited to a BBQ after a photo shoot I had for work, and the hostess was kind enough to have a bunch of options for me: A delicious cauliflower, red onion and cilantro salad; tomato slices with chopped fresh basil drizzled in olive oil; corn on the cob (minus the butter), and some very simple yet stunningly flavorful grilled shiitake mushrooms.

Dinner

-Thai food! We went out to our favorite Thai restaurant, and I wish I wrote down the names of my dishes. First I had a super tasty curry-based soup with tofu and vegetables in it, and my main course was spicy rice with grilled pineapples and vegetables. Yum!

Week one is down, two more to go and I’m really looking forward to them. I haven’t found this difficult at all, though I’m pretty sure I need to be eating a little bit more, definitely more often. I have to work on having more ready to eat snacks available, because my schedule varies so much I need to be prepared for when a sudden workout comes up, or for when I have to spend meal times away from home.

One response »

  1. I LOVE French toast! I cook mine in coconut oil! It has me singing in the morning! Way to stay on course on the first week! I cheated Saturday night and had calamari!! :-( BUT I got right back on track the next day!

Leave a Reply

