The Vegan Kickstart was my bitch (except for the part where I got drunk)

Standard

Twenty-one days have gone by since the beginning of my trek down vegan road. I stuck with the plan to perfection, except on the night I got drunk with all my friends at my house and forgot to make double sure that my common-allergen-avoiding friend’s brownies were vegan friendly. They were taste bud friendly, for sure! But vegan? Not with those eggs in them. I would say sheesh and shame on me, but since this was an honest communication mistake caused by drunken stupor I totally let it go and went right back on vegan path. Upward and onward.

I got lazier about documenting exactly what I ate, so here’s a broad spectrum of some of the meals I’ve had in the last two weeks:

Breakfast

-Green smoothie: Cucumber, spinach and mango, blended in water.

-My super healthy pancakes, with flaxseed instead of eggs. Drizzled with agave nectar.

-The mother of all sandwiches: Half an avocado, yellow and orange pepper, green onion, homemade pickled cucumber and red onion, fresh cucumber and red onion, mix of salad greens, tomato.

-Banana smoothie: Banana, strawberry, spinach.

-Two vegan carrot muffins, one banana, one peach, a cup of tea.

-Cereal with almond or rice milk.

 

Lunch

-Stir fry: Red and orange pepper, green onion, red onion, shredded carrot, bean sprouts. Side of brown rice with peanut sauce.

-Brown rice topped with peanut sauce and banana slices (have you ever had rice with bananas? It’s delicious! This is how my mom would give it to me all the time when I was a kid). Half baked sweet potato with hummus.

-Two whole wheat wraps smothered in hummus and fresh vegetables.

-Lentil soup.

-Sauteed greens with fried tofu.

 

Dinner

-Chili! Made with TVP (texturized vegetarian protein) in place of ground beef.

-Sushi. We went to an all you can eat sushi bar and I had avocado rolls, cucumber rolls, udon noodles, tofu, spicy miso soup (delicious!), and seaweed salad.

-Two whole wheat wraps smothered in hummus and fresh vegetables.

-Black bean soup with amaranth and fried tofu.

-Baked kabocha squash, corn on the cob and refried beans.

-Stir fry.

-Homemade Mexican bean empanadas and yellow rice.

-Moroccan chickpea soup.

Snacks

-Lentil soup with Mary’s organic rice crackers.

-Baked sweet potato with hummus.

-Corn chips with refried beans and homemade salsa.

 

Now that the kickstart is over comes my time to decide what I want to do. Though I won’t be calling myself a vegan anytime soon, my interest is certainly peaked. I think I may want to keep eating this way, particularly because I noticed that while on a plant-based diet it is very difficult to fall into junk food (with the exception of the corn chips I had). This is what attracts my attention the most: it’s just plain healthy. And healthy makes sense to me.

 

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Congratulations on finishing with no real mishaps. Think of all the people who say, “I could never do that,” You just did! And now you got great experience to go forward with. Your meal history looks so yummy! Gets me thinking. Hmmm… time to get in the kitchen!

  2. Yeah, sorry about the brownies. :( It totally slipped my mind that you were on your kickstart. But you did great! It’s wonderful that you enjoyed it so much. :)

Leave a Reply

