Functional training

Standard

Most people equate working out with going to the gym, and while this notion may be correct for some it has nothing to do with the things I do in my daily training. I don’t go to a gym, I work out at the studio where I work as a trainer. The main difference between a gym and a studio is that while at the gym you can expect to find lots of big and heavy machines, a studio will likely focus more on having the tools necessary for functional training. The latter is the kind of training I do.

Basically, it’s called ‘functional’ because it adheres closer to the movements we use and the way we function in real, everyday life. For the most part, gym machines limit the range of motion one can accomplish with a muscle, but working that same muscle with dumbbells, medicine balls, elastics, plates, and bars allows it to mobilize in many different ways and angles, activating a larger amount of fibers, and thus making it — in my opinion– a more effective work out.

This is what a typical training session can look like for us; this time we were working core and abs, and my friend Angelina played photographer while the boss and I got our workout done.

We started with crunches on the bench. I can’t remember how many we did but I remember the burn. Oh, the burn.

 

After that we moved on to full sit-ups with a medicine ball (no swinging it!)

 

Then holding a plate in front of the chest and rotating the torso from side to side, all while keeping balance kneeling on the Bosu. Lovely.

Also, bear in mind this are just phone pictures, hence the crapiness. (Or maybe I’m just too damn fast to be photographed. YEAH.)

 

Then a gazillion leg lifts with three thousand pounds of ankle weights. My grimace of pain and my screaming back muscle in this picture tell you that I hardly exaggerate.

This is but a snippet of what goes on in our training session. Awesome workouts are accomplished with not one single conventional gym machine. I love functional training because to me it’s a lot more fun than going to the gym; it allows for imagination and initiative. So many inventive ways to suffer, weeee!

3 responses »

  1. Awesome! I always found the machines very intimidating. Being able to use low tech solutions to accomplish a better range of workouts would definitely be a great way to train!

Leave a Reply

